Driver education is offered as a one semester course during the regular school year in day school for grade 11 and 12 students. Additionally, students have the opportunity to enroll in after school or summer school driver education if age 15 years is attained and they have passed eight high school courses during the previous two semesters.
Driver Education (After/Summer School)
Students must start the process to register for all sessions with their Guidance Counselor. All Driver Ed fees must be paid at time of registration at the book store. (cash, check or charge) online payments are not available.
PLEASE OBTAIN a Permit To Enroll Form from your counselor.
|Registration||Testing||Classroom Begins||Classroom Ends|
|7 am - 10 am||May 11 & 12th||May 26th||June 1st||June 26th|
|10 am - 1 pm||May 11 & 12th||May 26th||June 1st||June 26th|
|1 pm - 4 pm||May 11 & 12th||May 27th||June 1st||June 26th|
7:30 am - 10am
|May 11 & 12th||May 27th||July 6th||July 31st|
June Session: Classes run on Monday thru Friday
July Session: Class runs Monday thru Friday
Students will receive safe instruction in the safe operation of motor vehicles, rules of the road, and the laws of the State relating to motor vehicles. The course meets the legal requirements of the State in preparing students to become safe and efficient users of the highway transportation system.
Driver Education is taught in three phases:
- Classroom Instruction (30 hours)
- Behind the Wheel Driving (6 hours)
Parents are responsible for a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving (of which 10 hours must be night driving) with their son/daughter and to record this on a document to be turned in when the student obtains his/her license. To successfully complete the course, students must attend all course hours.
Driver Education - Full Class
- In-District: $ 250.00
- Out-of-District: $ 350.00
Driver Education - Repeat BTW ONLY
- In-District: $ 175.00
- Out-of-District: $ 275.00
Driver Education - Repeat Classroom ONLY
- In-District: $ 150.00
- Out-of-District: $ 200.00
Please note: Juniors and Seniors who qualify for a district fee waiver will get the driver education fee waived. All other students must pay the driver education fee
Drivers Education Status Inquiry
Secretary of State
Illinois Department of Transportation
Drivers Education FAQ
Joliet West BTW Check In
50 Hour Driving Log
Teen Driving Guide
Preventing Distracted Driving: A Comprehensive Resource
Rules of the Road 2018
Adult Drivers Education
Wondering what other states allow students to drive with an Illinois permit? Click here